[Blog Tour] Review: Heart of Mist by by Helen Scheuerer + Giveaway

Heart of Mist (The Oremere Chronicles #1)
by Helen Scheuerer
Published on: August 31st 2017
Published by: Talem Press
Purchase on: Amazon


In a realm where toxic mist sweeps the lands and magic is forbidden, all Bleak wants is a cure for her power.

Still grieving the death of her guardian and dangerously self-medicating with alcohol, Bleak is snatched from her home by the Commander of the King’s Army, and summoned to the capital.

But the king isn’t the only one interested in Bleak’s powers.

The leader of an infamous society of warriors, the Valia Kindred, lays claim to her as well, and Bleak finds herself in the middle of a much bigger battle than she anticipated.

Heart of Mist is the gripping first book in The Oremere Chronicles, a fantasy series of epic proportions.

Blog Tour Schedule can be found here


I decided to join the Heart of Mist blog tour to kinda force myself into reading because I've been on and off (but more so with on) a terrible book slump this year. Shealea @ The Bookshelf Bitch's rave tweets about this helped a lot in that decision though! 

While I can't say that I read the whole book in one seat nor that this cured this terrible book slump of mine, Heart of Mist sure is still one heck of an enjoyable book with distinct, mysterious, fun characters and a rich, complex, fantasy world.

One of the things that I really loved about the Heart of Mist is its pacing. There are parts where a lot of interesting things are happening at the same time, one after another; the pace can get too fast that my slump just don't have the time to make me bored. However, there are also moments where the information gets too much. As far as the characters go, I can't say that the protagonist, Bleak, is my favorite character because she can really be a handful but I also see that she has a lot of room for character growth and I'm actually pretty excited about that. As well, this is told in multiple POVs but for me, Bleak's POV is the most fun to read. It's also worth noting that Bleak is an alcoholic here. I had to do a double take in the first chapter and question myself if she was really the protagonist lol. But moving on, the other characters like Fiore, Swinton, and Bren though-- oh. they are to die for! I also found myself liking the Valian warriors despite their nature. Like I said this book has distinct characters. You might not like one character but rest assured that there's plenty more characters that you will fall in love with.

Speaking of love, there's sooo little romance here and as someone who's a huge sucker for romance... I don't mind it. At all. I guess the hints are there but they're just that: Hints. And for me, if I'm able to like a book that's got no romance then that's one hella good book.

Disclaimer: A review copy was received for an honest review.

Rating: 4/5 stars


Follow this link below for the giveaway!

Book Review: The Art of Feeling by Laura Tims

The Art of Feeling
by Laura Tims
Published on: August 15th 2017
Published by: HarperTeen
Purchase links: Amazon | Book Depository


Perfect for fans of Jennifer Niven’s New York Times bestseller All the Bright Places, this contemporary YA novel explores the friendship between a girl in constant pain and a boy who feels nothing at all.

Since the car accident, Samantha Herring has been in pain, not only from her leg injury, but also from her mother’s death, which has devastated her family. After pushing away her friends, Sam has receded into a fog of depression. But then Sam meets Eliot, a reckless loner with an attitude and an amazing secret—he can’t feel any pain. At first, Sam is jealous.

But then she learns more about his medical condition…and his self-destructive tendencies. In fact, Eliot doesn’t seem to care about anything at all—except maybe Sam. As they grow closer, they begin to confront Sam’s painful memories of the accident—memories that may hold a startling truth about what really happened that day.


I'm going to sound exaggerated in this review but what the heck! This book has me blown away! Everything about this The Art of Feeling is love, love, love! I adore the characters and Sam and Eliot's relationship is the kind of romance that is to die for!

Eliot and Sam started out as just schoolmates who didn't really like each other but then became unlikely friends and then later became best friends. I feel like it's rare for main characters in YA standalone books to have such slow development romance-wise who, from not knowing each other, became best friends before being romantically involved. Needless to say, their relationship is the most natural thing in this book.

The Art of Feeling delves into so many topics; grief, familial relationships, friendships, (animal relationships!), and Eliot's illness. Romance isn't actually the main focus. In fact, the romance only became apparent during the last chapters of the book, but I'll be damned if Eliot and Sam doesn't make you all gooey on the inside even when they were just best friends. 

The Art of Feeling is cute, sad, and funny. It has all the good stuff rolled into one, it's perfect! The blurb says its perfect for fans of All the Bright Places, maybe because there's a LITTLE similarity between the two but really, it's almost negligible that I think it's unfair to compare this book to AtBP. But frankly speaking, without actually comparing comparing the two, I enjoyed this more than AtBP.

Disclaimer: A advance review copy was provided by HarperCollins in exchange for an honest review.

Rating: 4.5/5 stars!
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Blog Template by BloggerCandy.com